SSC CGL Syllabus | SSC CGL Exam Pattern For Tier I, II, III & IV | SSC CGL Preparation Syllabus


SSC CGL Syllabus & Exam Pattern

Staff Selection Commission (SSC), New Delhi conducted Combined Graduate Level (CGL) examination in four phases, where each phase needs to be cleared depending upon the requirement of different posts. SSC CGL 2019-20 Exam will be conducted in four tiers, i.e., Tier – I, Tier – II, Tier – III and Tier – IV. The Combined Graduate Level Tier-II & Tier-III Examination is scheduled from 22nd June to 25th June 2020. Candidates who prepared by following the latest SSC CGL Syllabus were able to scale this exam.

SSC will conduct CGL Tier – I Exam from 2nd March to 11th March 2020 and CGL Tier-II & III Exam from 22nd June 2020 to 25th June 2020 in online mode. For cracking all the phases of SSC CGL 2019-20 Exam students must start the preparation with a concrete study plan. The important ingredients for creating a good study plan are: the latest exam pattern and detailed syllabus of the respective phase of the exam.


SSC CGL Syllabus & Pattern


Type of Exam

Mode of Exam


Objective Multiple Choice

Computer Based (Online)


Objective Multiple Choice

Computer Based (Online)


Descriptive Paper in English or Hindi

Pen and Paper mode (Offline)


Skill Test: Data Entry Speed Test (DEST)/ Computer Proficiency Test (CPT)

Wherever Applicable (Not necessary for all the post)

Document Verification

Applicable for all


Staff Selection Commission (SSC) has made some changes in the exam pattern. Students must make note of changes in exam pattern and syllabus before beginning the SSC CGL exam preparation. Below are some important points to take note of:

  • Tier –I objective exam will be of 60 minutes duration in online mode.
  • Tier –II objective exam will consist of 4 papers, each paper will be of 60 minutes duration in online mode.
  • Tier – III descriptive exam will be of 60 minutes duration in pen and paper mode.
  • There will be no sectional cut-off.


SSC CGL Syllabus & Exam Pattern

SSC CGL Tier 1 Syllabus: Quantitative Aptitude Syllabus, General Intelligence and Reasoning Syllabus, English Syllabus, General Awareness Syllabus

SSC CGL Tier-II Syllabus: Quantitative Ability, English Language and Comprehension, Statistics, General Studies (Finance and Economics)

SSC CGL Tier-III Syllabus: Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi (Writing of Essay, Precis, Letter, Application etc.)

SSC CGL Tier-IV Syllabus: Tier-IV examination comprises of couple of skill sets required for certain Government Posts all over the country.
1. DEST (Data Entry Speed Test)
2. CPT (Computer Proficiency Test)

Tier-I exam is compulsory for all posts mentioned in the SSC CGL 2019-20 Notification. Candidates will have to prepare for both Tier 2 and Tier 3 exam simultaneously. However, the evaluation of Tier 3 Descriptive exam will be done only if a candidate clears the combined cut off for Tier 1 and Tier 2. So, candidates may appear for both Tier 2 and Tier 3 exams but your Tier 3 answer sheets will be evaluated only if you clear the cut-off. Tier-IV exam is taken by candidates applying specifically for TA, CSS, MEA and Inspector.

Penalty for Wrong Answers: Giving a wrong answer to a question will lead to deduction of 0.5 marks in Tier – I, III and IV while that of 0.25 marks in Tier-II.

Leave a Reply